Bridging with lovenox

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mecretired

VR.org Supporter
Supporting Member
Just had a bronchoscopy which required bridging with lovenox--my first time. My range is 2.5-3.5. I have a St Jude aortic valve. This is how it went. No Coumadin for 5 days before procedure--11/26 thru 11/30. Lovenox started on 3rd day 11/28. Procedure on 12/1. Restart Coumadin 12/1. Lovenox thru 12/3. 12/3 inr 1.2. 12/4 inr 1.4. Today 12/5 am inr still only 1.5. No lovenox since 12/3 pm. I'm concerned. Should I be? Weekend--doctors not available. What should I do?

I'm no doctor and please don't do as I did without talking to your anticoagulation clinic. The last time I bridged they had me start my usual dose of warfarin the day after the surgery, and inject myself with 0.9 ml. of lovenox 6 straight days (once a day in the morning) after surgery. My inr checked at around 3.0 a week after surgery if my memory serves me right.

Hi

mecretired;n860885 said:
Just had a bronchoscopy which required bridging with lovenox--my first time. My range is 2.5-3.5. I have a St Jude aortic valve.

hope the procedure went well. Without other information my first thought is that 2.5~3.5 range is higher than is recommended for a StJude aortic. That's more like Mitral valve guidelines. That factors into what I'll say next

This is how it went. No Coumadin for 5 days before procedure--11/26 thru 11/30.

so logically your INR was likely 1 (meaning uncoagulated) at that time. Like everything coagulation is calculated risks. The surgeon (based on research to establish guidelines) considers that a low risk.

may I say that I hate these sdrawkcab dates they are hard to read