BAV Symptoms or HBP Med Symptoms?

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JoeyBAV

Hey everyone! I am new to this awesome site and have to admit some trepidation as I am staring at AVR in the coming years (or maybe months). I am 53 and I was diagnosed with BAV back in November 2016 with a 4.8 ascending aortic aneurism. I have had a murmur since childhood but no cause was ever found. I have thought about second opinions but haven't aggressively sought one yet. I think I may also be having some symptoms. I get tired a little more easily (something I was attributing to age and weight gain) but I can go out and walk 2 miles at a pretty brisk pace, up and down hills with little trouble. The docs have told me to not do intense exercise and keep my heart rate under 120. I am on Diovan for HBP. Every now and then, when I carry something heavy, my heart will pound shortly after setting it down. I have had that on occasion since I was put on the Diovan back in my late 30's but its more frequent now but I am more out of shape since the docs stopped my training. Also, I lost weight about 2 years ago and my BP was so low that I was getting nervous about taking the BP med. I weaned myself off of it and my BP stayed in the normal range for 3 months after stopping it with NO heart pounding. Once my BP crept up again and I started back on the Diovan, then the pounding started again on exertion.