BAV, Exercise, and being a 17 year old athlete

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
G

I'm 17 and I've been an extremely active athlete whilst having BAV with Aortic Stenosis and Moderate Regurgitation.

I have been playing soccer competitively for the past 7 years along with field hockey, weightlifting for exactly a year now, and just started Kick Boxing.
So far I haven't ever had any symptoms of my heart condition getting in the way of anything. It's been over 2 years since I've been to a cardiologist for a checkup,
which I know is terrible but I live in an area which is 3 hours away from my doctor. I am hoping to go see a doctor very soon.

Although I've been advised to stay away from strenuous exercise doctors are very sparse on details as to what that really means.
I've always done exercise trying to push my limits and I have never really felt any symptoms.

TL;DR With people with similar circumstances as myself what are your experiences being athletes with BAV? Has it ever forced you to reduce your performance
so that your heart is safe? Is weightlifting terrible for my heart? Or has any exercise never really caused you any issues at all? When did you have to undergo surgery if you did?
Is my exercise really bad for the progression?

Not a doctor, but very similar story to yours. Aortic Stenosis, monocuspid valve, regurgitation....the whole shot.

I played baseball, basket ball and rode a ton of bikes while growing up. Only time I really noticed any symptoms was weight lifting. That's a lot of pressure on your heart and vascular system. Doctors told me to cut that out early on with the exception of very light weight.

I played competitive baseball through college and then continued riding mountain bikes after that. I rode A LOT for many years and then finally began having symptoms at 38 years old.