16 year old BAV (gym)

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Moe

Hey I am 16 years old have been diagnosed with BAV since I was born. I recently went to my cardiologist for my yearly check up. Before that I haven’t gone in about 2 years. I was in shock for some reason I was always told it was nothing to worry about as a kid. Now I know that I will most likely Probably need surgery in the future if my aneurism reaches above 5mm, its is currently at 3.5. I love going to the gym its like my second home and really helps me a lot physically and mentally. When I told my doctor I go to the gym he told me to not lift more then 50-100 pounds. I personally bench a good 150 (1rpm) weighing around 140 and I am just getting started. I have only been really going at it for the past month and a half (I went 5 months before covid) and the thought of not being able to put my all into it is really bothering me because I just love pushing my self and feeling satisfied after. Im glad I found this website just now and seen people talking about their own experiences. I really feel lost the gym is a passion to me and I am just getting started to achieving a dream physique. Is a 3.5 aneurism really even a big deal to worry about right now?
The doctor also mentioned that It has been the same for 2 years now. I would also love to chat with someone that can answer a few of my question this topic is on my mind everyday now and even in the gym.
Another question I have is that I currently only take protein powder that is all my dad lets me take. I am looking into starting to take pre workout, BCAA, and creatine. Will those have any effect on my condition in any shape or form?

Thank you so much.

Hey
It's late here in Australia, so I'll be brief for now.