visible neck pulsation

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TLB123

Hello
I was just wondering if anyone else has or had experienced a visible neck pulsation after their surgery. A few of my family members noticed it right after my surgery. It is mainly on the right side. I have noticed it on the left side just not as prominent. I had noticed it but never really thought anything of it. I find myself looking at the necks of other people to see if they have it. Anyone out there have any information for me. Is it normal? Will it eventually go away? Is it something I need to worry about? I appreciate any and all comments.

I never really post much. I guess I feel I'm still new to this. I am just about 7 months post-op. I do read many of the posts. I can't even tell you how much they have helped me in my recovery. I have had so many questions answered here without having to ask them. So for this I have to say THANKYOU!!
Tara

Hmmm, no, never noticed that. I do look at the right side of my neck since I don't like the scar that I have from the central line and for awhile I was obsessing over it. :eek:

Is your BP high? Mine is on the low side, 100/60.

Peace,
Ruth

That means that you are retaining water. It is mainly visible on the right. If you see it you need to talk to your docs immediately to discuss diuretics. Also, please reduce your salt intake. Do you weigh yourself daily? Weighing himself and looking at his neck veins are the 2 tests that my son is supposed to perform daily (unfortunately, he doesn't, but he is 17 and thinks that he knows more than everyone else).

Hi Ruth
My blood presssure is usually pretty good. It is usually 100-110/60-65. I don't like the scar from the central line either.

Hi briansmom.