Congenital Heart Defect Twins

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
M

mar4char

Hi, this is my first time here, and I feel anxious about having to visit this site to begin with. I am an identical twin and for the past 43 years have been relatively healthy, (usual woman and birth horror stories aside) just the usual woes with aging. Last October, I had a problem with my colon and ended having to have major bowel surgery. During this time, my twin had a nasty cold, and developed chest pain. She went to the doctors and was told she needed an echocardiogram. There she discovered she had moderate to severe aortic regurgitation, and aortic stenosis. This is all foreign to me. At this time she told me to go get check out because I too could have the same heart defects. So I did. Turns out all four of my heart valves are insufficient. All four go figure???? What does this mean? Mine range from mild to moderate.