Hello, newbie here

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OCheart

Hi there,

My recent echo showed an aortic aneurysm at 4.6, up from 4.2 14 months ago. My surgeon has pretty much set my expectations that surgery is coming up. I go in tomorrow for a TEE and more detailed CT scan. I'm scared, nervous, anxious, thankful, all of the feelings. This site is extremely helpful- my goodness. I was wondering where everyone was because I couldn't find much of people's experience...now I know you are all over here!

To be honest though, I'm nervous for how my life will change- both physically and emotionally. I know i will be changed from this but I'm nervous how. Depression, memory loss, anger, feeling alone, etc.

Also random question- do you think it is worth it to rent a hospital bed for my house?

Thank you all for being open and honest.

Hi
OCheart;n882844 said:
I was wondering where everyone was because I couldn't find much of people's experience...now I know you are all over here!

;-)

To be honest though, I'm nervous for how my life will change- both physically and emotionally. I know i will be changed from this but I'm nervous how. Depression, memory loss, anger, feeling alone, etc.

My life only changed by getting better. On my surgeries from 1992 (at 28) to my surgery at 48 (2011) I simply got better after the surgery. Granted there was a bit of hassle with eye focus and memory for a few months after the 2nd surgery, but within a short time that was over.

I had a homograft put in in 1992 and a mechanical put in in 2011. I self manage my warfarin totally and pretty much do exactly what I want. I'm from Australia and have lived in Japan , South Korea, Finland as well as travelled to many countries. On my blog you can get an idea of the lack of limitations to living my life.
from working on my shed (by my self, unaided)