Alcohol or Beer w Tissue Valve

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jag004

I'm roughly 19 weeks out of AVR, with a bovine valve. I am going out tmrw with my friends and am looking to drink. At most, I've had around 5 beers at one time, and felt fine during n after since surgery. I'm looking to have around 12 beers over an 8 hour period tmrw. I'm wondering if this is ok? Im a big guy, and drink sissy light beer anyways. Does anyone have any experience with tissue valves and drinking?

My issue is the length of time it's been since surgery......19 weeks, a little more than 4 months. Do you think it's ok for me to go out for the day drinking beers yet? Or do you think I shouldn't push the issue until a later time during my recovery? I'm worried about drinking too many and my heart not being able to handle it yet.

I'm not a doctor, but I considered the 12 week mark as the time when all restrictions were lifted. :) But if you're on any meds to control your heart rate, I wouldn't risk it. Not worth it for piss weak light beer!

I'm also not a doctor, but my doc said a glass of red was fine even before 8 weeks.

I personally don't see an issue with a few beers of less than 3% alcohol. (Well except for the philosophical issue I have with beer that is less than 3% alcohol)

All my doctors approved a glass of red wine daily, if I wished.
They didn't approve a bottle a day :eek: but I am sure they wouldn't approve that for anyone, OHS or not.

Anyone had problems with alcohol with tissue valve?

Anyone had problems with alcohol with tissue valve?