Vitamin K2 and Warfarin

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hook

I know Vit K found in green stuff is something us blood thinner have to keep at a minimum, but does Vit K2 also thicken blood. K2 has many benefits to include preventing hardening of the arteries and slowing cancer developement, thus I would love to take it.

Anyone know the answer to this?:confused2:

There's some evidence that ingesting a reasonable and consistent amount of Vit. K makes it EASIER to maintain a steady INR than avoiding Vit. K. I'm not an expert on K2, and I don't remember which factor of Vit. K does what.

I know Vit K found in green stuff is something us blood thinner have to keep at a minimum, but does Vit K2 also thicken blood. K2 has many benefits to include preventing hardening of the arteries and slowing cancer developement, thus I would love to take it.

Keeping Vitamin K intake to a MINIMUM is an OUT OF DATE Philosophy that has been PROVEN to lead to unstable INR.

Studies have Proven that a "Consistent" level of Vitamin K intake leads to a more stable INR.

'AL Capshaw'

Vitamin K has been shown to be beneficial. Drastically reducing or eliminating it is not good, as others have indicated.

As Al noted, the important part about Vitamin K (and, really, the rest of your diet) is consistency. If you are consistent in your diet and activities, you will be able to regulate your INR based on your regular dietary intake (and other factors). Just because you take warfarin, this shouldn't mean that you have to change your diet.

Just eat your normal diet. If you love green stuff, enjoy those. If you don't, no big deal. I have a friend who pooh-poohs anything green, even iceberg lettuce, which is pretty bland-looking.