Waiting Room question

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
G

I've been in the 'waiting room' for two years and have a symptom question. I'm statistically severe but asymptomatic and of course question everything related to possible symptoms. A doctor told me you will know the difference. Is that true in your experience? I've had a few dizzy spells and minor chest pain but no shortness of breath and nothing that has stopped me. I'm 43, BAV with 1.0 cm and 36 on the gradient pressure if that helps. Thank you

I was asymptomatic except for a little tiredness and some chest discomfort (which I blew off as anxiety due to taking college mid-terms). Student health service referred me to a surgeon who wanted to do OHS ASAP. I waited 11 months, until I graduated to have the surgery and things have worked out OK for me. Test numbers don't mean a lot to me as most of the modern testing was not around when I had the surgery........but FWIW, my gradient across the aortic valve was 117mm.....and from what I now understand....that's bad

PS: Welcome to the forum. This is a great group supportive and well informed folks.

Last edited:
Guest;n872436 said:
I've been in the 'waiting room' for two years and have a symptom question. I'm statistically severe but asymptomatic and of course question everything related to possible symptoms. A doctor told me you will know the difference. Is that true in your experience? I've had a few dizzy spells and minor chest pain but no shortness of breath and nothing that has stopped me. I'm 43, BAV with 1.0 cm and 36 on the gradient pressure if that helps. Thank you