INR is low

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alesia

Hi there, I am new to this warfarrin dosing. I had my mitral valve replaced with a ONX mechanical valve. I have been taking 4mg and my INR has been at 2.4. Friday went for a lab test and saw it today(sunday) that its at 1.7. Would I increase it myself to 6mg or 8mg. And now I am thinking that I do need a self tester for these reasons. Tmo is a holiday so I am stuck. Who knows what it is today or will be tmo. What would you do.............TY

I got your PM and have replied there. I think your proposed increase is too much, given you have been 4mg I suggest 6mg once and continue to 4 and retest as you proposed.

You don't want to over correct and need to drop dose in response, then be under and raise it again.. The so called see saw effect.

I am guessing with a mitral valve you want to be at like INR = 3

pellicle;n884963 said:
.............I suggest 6mg once and continue to 4 and retest as you proposed.

Good advice. I never make big warfarin changes 'cause it will cause the "see-saw", or "yo-yo" effect that can be difficult to bring back to a normal INR. Sometimes a fluke INR, like 1.7, can occur for whatever reason, and your next test will be back in your given INR range.........plus, with the newer valves, a 1.7 would not be very far below the normal range, if at all.

I also have a mitral valve, and have had fluctuating INRs for years. When I started self testing recently , I realized I am VERY sensitive to very minimal changes in my dosing regimen. The clinic had been so aggressive with dose changes, it's no wonder I couldnt get it regulated! As high as 19, (obviously, hospitalized for that) and as low as 1.0
I mention all this because as the others said, that's a very big change from your usual dose , and its changes like that which sent my INR skyrocketing.