Questioning the Clinic

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CazicT

So I am still relatively new to the Coumadin Clinic. I'm a little over 2 months post surgery. I started out getting tested via a visiting nurse who would report my number to a clinic would call with my dosing instructions. Eventually I transitioned out of that and started going to a different clinic that was in my home town since it would be convenient. They said I should be tested every 2 weeks until I get two in a row in range, and then i'd start going once a month.

Desired Range 2-3

Anyway on to what happened today...

My INR had been fairly stable for a while. I had been at 2.6 for two tests in a row (2 weeks a part at this clinic). My tests prior to that were all pretty stable too with maybe a few exceptions in the beginning.

Today I came in at 3.8... The clinician was wondering what changed in my diet or if I had been drinking more than usual. I couldn't really think of anything at the time. Later it occurred to me that I had been taking the Ensure protein drink that contains vit. K (2 servings a day) and I did stop it about a week prior. It's the only thing I can really point to to explain it.

Anyway the clinician said to take 2.5mg (half of normal) tonight and then continue with my regular dosing. Also, try to eat more greens for the next few days. Then, they scheduled me to test again in 3 weeks.

Am I crazy, or does it seem like maybe my dosing should have been altered more than that? Also, increasing the interval to 3 weeks doesn't seem like a great idea since I was pretty far out of range with no real explanation (at least at the time.. i'm still not totally sure I can blame the protein drink).