Coumadin Long Term

Valve Replacement Forums

Help Support Valve Replacement Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fernac911

I will be having surgery (AVR) next month and wanted to see what problems people have faced when using coumadin long term.

Thanks,
Fern

I think you'll find that the only problems people have had is goofing up and failing to take it when they should. I'm a relative short-timer, having been on warfarin for just over a year, and have had absolutely no problems with it. It was a little yoyo'y at first, and now will probably need a small adjustment, due to a gradual trend that is just becoming evident, but overall very easy to deal with.

I'm also a newbie but my short experience is as stated above :)

The only thing I will add is keep doses regular. Meaning as little as possible variation between doses. Test weekly avoid adjusting the dose unless *really* necessary. Even if your INR drifts a little out of range don't change the dose till you are sure it is a trend not a variance.

Eat drink and be merry :)

Most of the things I read about coumadin are bad. A lot of people talk about being tired all the time, joint pain, and hair loss. I was planning on getting an On-x valve to avoid a second surgery, but now I rather get a tissue valve and just face another surgery in the future.

This is the site that I have been looking at:
http://m.topix.com/forum/drug/coumadin

Drug companies dont make much money out of Warfarin. The medical literature seem not to support your concerns, what are your sources?

A lot of people talk about being tired all the time, joint pain, and hair loss

those are things most elderly report ... even if not on Warfarin. Dick has been asked about hair loss (even libido loss, discussed here if you are able to use google to search) .